Tags

So today I did one of the most embarrassing things a lolita can do. I rummaged through my hard drive and made myself a timeline. And boy did I find some gems.

Megan’s Lolita Timeline
(Click for bigger, though I don’t know that you want to do that to yourself.)

And in case that weren’t humiliating enough, I thought I’d talk a little bit about a few of them for old times’ sake.

2005
This was actually not my first attempt. I’d had at least one previous very, very disturbing encounter with a needle and thread and the idea that I would make some lolita at least a year before hand. It was scary. Really scary. And thank god there were no digital cameras in the house. Regardless, this was the first outfit I’d ever posted on the EGL lj community. And for a first shot, it’s not too bad. The skirt’s a little funny, and I hate the armwarmers, but it’s not from Hot Topic, there are no cat ears to be found, and I’m wearing tights and a proper blouse. Go me!
2006
Wa-Loli, another not-great-but-not-quite-there attempt. The lace is awful, but there’s not much of it. I like my hair too! I still have most of this outfit actually, though I never wear it. Wa-loli is one of those things that I find hard to wear except for special occasions. I might take the outfit apart and make it into a normal jsk or something.
2008
I would have covered 2007, but apparently the only lolita outfit I have pictures of from that year is my dino-loli, and there’s not much to say about it other than the fact that it’s covered in dinosaurs. This was actually an outfit for my first meetup! Pretty casual, it was the outfit that taught me not to be a big fan of full shearing on me though, it’s just not very flattering.

I hope you enjoyed my brief jot down memory lane. I’m going to go try and repress any thought of that mini top-hat.