Tags

, , , ,

The prompt for the Lolita Blog Carnival post this week was a 5-outfit challenge based around one large item! I’ve always wanted to do one of these but never took the time to, so I knew I wanted to attempt this one.

I chose my Baby the Stars Shine Bright Sugar Rose Cake skirt for a couple of reasons. I wanted to use a skirt because I thought it would be more versatile, which I think was definitely the case. I also wanted to use something black x pink because those are the most common colors in my wardrobe so I knew I’d have a lot of stuff to chose from when coordinating!

Here are my finished outfits:

  • Socks & Shoes: Bodyline
  • Purse: H&M
  • Everything Else: Offbrand

I went with something pretty simple first. Kind of a jsk look with the layered shirts, and I wanted something a bit more summery. The beret gives it kind of a school vibe, I think this would be super cute with a satchel.

  • Shoes: Bodyline
  • Tights & Bag: Target
  • Headband: Baby the Stars Shine Bright
  • Everything Else: Offbrand

Trying something a little more “mature” with my super sweet skirt. I like the combination of top and tights with this one, and I love that Hello Kitty bag! I need to wear it more often.

  • Blouse & Tights: Forever 21
  • Shoes & Bag: Bodyline
  • Everything Else: Offbrand

I promise there’s a bit of mint in this skirt! It’s a bit hard to see from far away but there are little leaves on the flowers in a mint color. I’m not sure I like this blouse with a belt, it would have probably looked better let loose. But I do like this super sweet look!

  • Jacket: Kohls
  • Boots: Forever 21
  • Socks: Bodyline
  • Tights: Target
  • Headband: Baby the stars shine bright

A sugary punk look! I love this jacket with sweet stuff. I think it would look even better with some pins on the lapels and one of those flower x spike headbands I see around tumblr so often!

  • JSK: Fan Plus Friend
  • Shoes: Bodyline
  • Headband: Baby the Stars Shine Bright
  • Everything else: Offbrand

And the most ridiculous and fun, the jsk x skirt combo! I always see these in these sorts of challenges in magazines and I’ve never tried it because it seems…well pretty overkill. This wasn’t actually as uncomfortable to wear as I thought it would be, though the back of this jsk has shirring and the waistband on the skirt has elastic, so it’s hard for me to say how uncomfortable more fitted garments would be. It was hot, it’s a lot of layers! I must say I like this look, though I don’t know I’d wear it anywhere. It’s just not comfortable enough.

This was overall a really fun challenge. It definitely stretches your creativity, and it gave me good ideas for outfits in the future! I might have to try this again sometime, especially with something you have trouble coordinating it can be a lot of help. Others who have done this prompt:

Redtonic’s blog ♥ Let’s Go! ♥ kirakirashoujo ♥ A Lace Jail ♥ Hello Batty ♥ 2 teaspoons of sugar ♥ swirly purple and green crayons ♥

