Tags

, , , , ,

Daily Outfit March 24, 2012:

  • Skirt, headdress, collar & brooch: Handmade
  • Cardigan & Boots: Forever 21
  • Tights: Sock Dreams

I went to a Hunger games meetup yesterday, and I thought I dress up for the theme. I put together a skirt, for one! I’ve had this corduroy sitting around in my stash for ages! I did a little sketch initially and this is what I wanted:

Yes that is colored with crayons. I HAVE NO REGRETS. Crayons are awesome. Anyway! I did away with the waist band idea when I discovered this pattern in my stash:

Ah, yes, the most super boring prom dresses of all time. But, it’s a great very flared basic princess seam pattern, so I just folded under the top and folded up the bottom of each pattern piece and did a little mock-up (which I later used as the lining) and it worked out just peachy! It’s a little bit on the roomy side at the waist, but that’s nice in case I ever want to wear it with a full blouse.

I also made some accessories! The headdress has a little silver parachute on it, like the ones that are used for the sponsor gifts. The parachute itself is made out of craft foam scored with a knitting needle and spray painted silver. I punched some little holes in it to attach chain for the pearl.

I also made my mockingjay pin. This came together a lot more easily than I thought it would. I made the actual bird out of polymer clay with a little earring wire to make the arrow. I haven’t made anything this detailed out of clay in years, it was nice to get some practice. I baked it and then hot glued it to a craft foam circle I spray painted gold and attached a pin backing.

The movie itself was really good! I haven’t read the book in a while but I felt like it was a pretty good adaptation. It was a lot of fun to make something inspired by it too, and I think this skirt will be a great addition to my wardrobe :D

