Tags

, , ,

Despite sewing for what feels like forever, I realized recently that I’ve never done any sewing-based tutorials here! So I put together this little tutorial for a simple lolita-worthy belt.

I found this on Tumblr from one of the Spank! shop blogs. I’m not sure if these are belts or headbands, but I thought that it would be a super cute design for a belt, so I decided to make something similar.

Materials: Scissors, Sewing Machine, Needle & Thread, Fabric (any will do, but I’d suggest something a little bit sturdy) about half a yard will probably be enough (I kind of winged it from scrap fabric), Interfacing, Closures (snaps, hooks & eyes, velcro, whatever is your preference), Trim of your choice.

Step 1 ♥

Measure you waist, preferably with a skirt or jsk on. There can be quite a bit of bulk with things like elastic waistbands, so you want to make sure you have enough room to wear whatever you want under it. Also measure how wide you want the belt to be. I cut my fabric at about 3 1/2 inches wide so that it would cover the elastic waistband of a skirt I wanted to cover.

♥ Step 2♥

Cut out your main fabric! This should be your waist measurement + about 3 inches by your chosen width + 1 inch. Cut out two pieces, unless you’re dumb like me and don’t have enough of one fabric so you have to use one piece of lining.

♥ Step 3 ♥

Put wrong sides together and stitch down both sides!

Then turn it inside out!

♥ Step 4♥

Top stitch down both sides! Make sure to pin this quite a bit, you don’t want it to shift around while you’re trying to sew.

♥ Step 5 ♥

Attach your fastenings and finish your edges by folding them over and stitching them down. Make sure to check on the sizing before attaching the fastenings!

♥ Step 6♥

Cut things out for a bow! The bigger piece is 4 x 7 inches and the smaller is 3 x 4.5 inches. Cut out two of your fabric and one of your interfacing for the bigger one and just one piece of fabric for the smaller.

♥ Step 7 ♥

Stitch the bigger piece down both long sides. You want to put the pieces together fabric x fabric x interfacing, so that when you turn it inside out…

The interfacing will be on the inside!

♥ Step 8♥

Fold the raw edges in and top stitch them shut. If you want to add lace or other trim, now is the time to do that!

♥ Step 9 ♥

Take the little piece you cut out earlier and fold it in half “hot dog style” (long side to long side haha) and stitch down the long edge. Turn it inside out…

And stitch the short edges together to make a loop! Then turn that inside out.

♥ Step 10 ♥

Fold the bow into pleats and then pull it through the little loop you just made.

♥ Step 11 ♥

Decorate if you want, I added some pearls for a little something extra. Then slide your bow onto the belt! It helps to add a few little stitches on the back of the bow to keep it from sliding around.

♥ Step 12 ♥

All done! Wear your belt out with pride :D I hope this was helpful!

