Tags

, , ,

I’m going to keep up the 30 day challenge, but probably consolidate them into a few days a post as my blog would get pretty overrun with lists after a while haha. So today I thought I’d post a little bit about the Lolita Social that I hosted at Animazement. I got the news that my grandfather passed away on Friday, about an hour before the event was originally scheduled, so I was really grateful that the panel staff was kind enough to push it back to Saturday evening. The event was pretty low-key, and I know a lot of people missed out because of the rescheduling, but I did get to meet some new lolitas and have some fun.

Mostly we played games and talked. My friend Kit snapped this photo of our awesome game of “Pin the Stuff of the OTT Lolita” Which I made the day before the convention haha. It worked really well actually! I covered the poster and the little pieces in clear contact paper and we attached things with painters tape, so everything is reusable. I also brought Pretty Pretty Princess and Apples to Apples, and I  was really glad I did. It got people involved without too much commitment on their part, which I think was ideal for the slightly more shy people in the crowd.

Spur of the moment I had the good idea of playing a lolita version of “Never Have I Ever.” Basically a group of us stood in a circle and put ten fingers out. We went around and said things we’ve never done in lolita, like “I’ve never worn Moi-Meme-Moitie” was one of mine, and if anyone else had done that, they put a finger down. You go around the circle until everyone is out of fingers! It would probably be even better with a group of of-age lolitas and some girly cocktails, but it was pretty fun none the less! We also had a whole lot of door prizes, thanks to my lovely friend Heather. I wish I’d gotten pictures of them, she had a big  assortment of purse hangers, jewelry, and bookmarks, I think most of the room went home with something pretty!

Afterwards we went outside to get some pictures. Here’s my outfit from that day:

  • JSK: H.Naoto
  • Underskirt: Old Navy
  • Shoes: Bodyline
  • Accessories: Handmade & Meta
  • Wig: Gothic Lolita Wigs
  • Tights: Target
This was a lot of fun to wear, and pretty comfy as a matter of fact! The JSK is super comfortable. The wig also held up very well, I was worried about it getting frizzy during transport, but it was just fine. I’m not sure if I’ll host a Social again next year. It was fun, but pretty hectic for me. I think it was worth it to meet new lolitas, though!
