As you all are probably aware, Japan was hit by an 8.9 magnitude earthquake and resulting tsunami yesterday. The devastation is massive, and I can’t put into words how badly I feel for those who felt it’s affects. So I thought I’d share some ways that you can help.

There are a whole lot of charities out there, but the sad thing is that any time there is a disaster of this scale, scams pop up. I heartily recommend Charity Navigator , it has a list of reputable charities and how donations are accepted and used for each one. It doesn’t take a lot of time, and every little bit can help.

There’s also an awesome project on lj called Fandom Auctions, which is having people donate fanfic, art, crafts, food, music, graphics, all sorts of things that will then be auctioned off for charity. They also have an awesome list of charities and information there, if you’re still unsure of where to donate.

I’ll be keeping Japan in my thoughts, and donating as much as I can, and I hope you guys will too.

