Tags

,

I thought it would be nice to have some “inspired by” posts. I often see movies or read books that inspire me, and I thought I would translate that into ideas for outfits. The first is the Lady Amalthea (or rather, the unicorn) from Peter S. Beagle’s The Last Unicorn. A lot of you are probably at least familiar with the movie, I watched it when I was young myself! I hadn’t read the book until recently though, and it was just lovely. Here’s a few ways for Lady Amalthea to inspire your clothes:

The Last Unicorn

“…she was no longer the careless color of sea foam, but rather the color of snow falling on a moonlit night.”

A beautiful shiro look works well for Amalthea. Using sheer fabrics like organdy, lace, and fine tulle make an ethereal textured look while still using only one color. The skirt above is from h. Naoto Frill, I think it really embodies the delicate look of the unicorn.

“The unicorn lived in a lilac wood, and she lived all alone.”

Lilac and lavender add some pretty accents to the layers of white. Flowers add a nice touch too, her wood is described as beautifully lush.

“And in the whiteness, of the whiteness, flowering in the tattered water… their eyes as dark and jeweled as the deep sea — and the shining of the horns, the seashell shining of the horns!”

The sea plays a big part in the novel. Pearls, shells, anything from the ocean is a good idea.

“My great-grandmother said only that the unicorn had a good smell. She never could abide the smell of any beast, even a cat or cow, let alone a wild thing. But she loved the smell of the unicorn.”

Black Pheonix Alchemy Lab actually makes scents based on The Last Unicorn, you can find them here.

Let me know if you’d enjoy more posts like this! I had a lot of fun picking out quotes and items.

