Tags

So I got this question in my formspring the other day:

What are three things in your lolita wardrobe that you don’t think you could live without?

I attempted to answer it in the little box and as the cursor blinked back at me I realized that this was a very difficult question, indeed, and it needed much more thought. I’m going to go on the assumption that the asker means which items are most loved, rather than which ones are most useful, because otherwise it would all be really boring things like petticoats and white shoes. I’m also going with just purchased things, because I don’t think I’d ever sell any of the things I’ve made just for me.

I think the first thing is probably my IW Emblem dress.

Not only is it lovely, but it took me a very long time to find and I had it tailored to fit me, so a lot of effort went into it. I also love how unique it is. Large, allover prints, aren’t super common! Prints that incorporate heraldry are also pretty hard to come by.

The next piece I think would be my first dress, Alice in Wondersweets Land or Candy Country.

It was my very first brand dress, a gift from my boyfriend Sam, and I’ve worn it to Disney World, so I’m very attached to it. It’s also thus far my only Alice print, which is pretty surprising considering how much I love Alice in Wonderland.

The last piece was probably the hardest. I really love my Pippi OP from ETC, Circus Ribbon from Baby, and Popping Balloon aka Sweets Park from Meta, but I went with Pippi.

(Okay so my dress is the happy marriage of these two, the OP in cream haha, ETC doesn’t have an online store so this is the closest I get to a stock photo.) Part of the reason I love this OP so much is because of how comfortable it is. It’s unlined, light weight, and fully shirred. Perfect for long car trips or lounging around watching movies with friends, and I do both quite frequently haha. It’s also because I love Emily Temple Cute. They straddle a nice line between otome and lolita, and their choices of prints and colors are so darling. But they seldom make things that will fit me, they rarely have shirring in their dresses D: Plus, it’s Pippi Longstocking, and she’s just badass.

What about you girls? This was a whole lot harder than I thought it would be, I’m curious to think what people would hold onto if they only had the option of three items.

