Tags

, ,


So as you may be aware, I looove me some Disney. And last Wednesday, I threw a Disney Princess party in my dorm, as sort of an evening of nostalgia. Well I thought this would be a cool thing for lolitas to do together, so I thought I might write a bit about what I did and how things worked out!

Find your movies! I had four movies to choose from, “The Princess and the Frog”, “Sleeping Beauty”, “The Little Mermaid”, and “Aladdin”, and I asked my guests to pick 3, since that was about all we’d have time for. We ended up not watching “Sleeping Beauty” because “Aladdin” was our more guy-friendly pick, so that had to stay, and a lot of people hadn’t seen “The Princess and the Frog” or “The Little Mermaid”. I think it was nice to have some wiggle room movie-wise, it worked out pretty well!
Make some food! Nostalgic food is excellent for these sorts of parties. I made vanilla cupcakes with buttercream frosting and piped some little chocolate crowns on top! Other good ideas are little triangular Peanutbutter and Jelly or ham and cheese sandwiches, animal crackers, Goldfish, apple juice (in juice boxes) or chocolate chip cookies!
Have something to do! Just watching a movie doesn’t make for much of a party. I handed out some coloring pages that I found on the internet, and had my stock pile of crayons, colored pencils and markers around. I also had paper, scissors, and a stapler around to make paper crowns. A couple of other good ideas are some old school friendship bracelet making, playing Pretty Pretty Princess, and cookie decorating!

I hope you enjoyed these ideas! I think the Disney parties will be a semesterly thing since they went over so well!

