Tags

, ,

I tried something new this week! I bake a lot, cookies, cupcakes, that sort of thing, but I had never tried cream puffs! So with the incentive of sharing them at my dorm’s annual croquet tournament I made some!

I made the shells the night before, they take a little while (I’d hazard a guess at an hour to an hour and a half to make) and are a little tricky, but they turned out really well!

The next morning my boyfriend and I made some home made whipped cream (Sam’s help was totally necessary, I have bad wrists and whipped cream without a mixer takes some wrist strength!) and I sliced the shells in half and piped it in! They turned out really well, and they were all gone by an hour or so into the tournament, which was a good sign!
I feel a bit more confident in my baking skills after taking on something that’s a little out of my comfort zone, hopefully one day I’ll have the patience (and the food processor) to make some macarons!

A bit of an update! I got both of my dresses back from the cleaners, and there’s basically nothing that can be done for the Alice in Sweets Land jsk. Removing the dye would most likely remove the dye from the surrounding area, so I’ll probably take it to a seamstress or find the guts to make it into a skirt myself. On the bright side, this means that I can use the leftover fabric from the top to make the matching headbow I’ve always wanted for that jsk. The ink stain in the Regimental Stripe jsk came out about half way? I might see if I can find an applique I like to sew on it, it’s a pretty simple dress as-is so I wouldn’t feel too bad adding something to it. Thank you so much for your words of kindness and support, it really helped me through a terrible day!

