Tags

,

I’ve been wearing lolita to class pretty regularly for the last year or so, and off and on for the past 3. Like wearing lolita in any other situation, there are good and bad things about it, so I thought I’d post some tips and experiences.

First I think it’s important to mention that you don’t have to wear lolita all the time If you’re not feeling very well, if you’re going to a science lab where you’ll be working with chemicals or burners, if you’re going to a gym class, obviously don’t wear your ruffles. A year or so ago I was in a cinema class in a room with terrible seats, and the class was 3 hours long to accommodate for both film and lecture. I tried wearing my lolita sometimes, but it was just too uncomfortable, so I opted for more comfy clothes. There could also be classes that you just don’t feel comfortable wearing lolita to because of how far away it is on campus (lolita shoes are not always the best to walk to class in) or just the atmosphere of the class doesn’t seem as accepting.
Try to pick an outfit before bed and have it laid out somewhere, or even just a good idea in your head. If you live in a dorm, and your first class is at 8 in the morning and your roommate doesn’t have class until 10, you’ll probably have to dress in the near-dark, and it makes things much easier if stuff is already put together, or at least well-organized. I’m kind of bad about this, I’ll admit, but I do try and keep my clothes somewhat organized so I don’t have to use my cell phone as a light to find the right shirt.
Cute school supplies. Need I say more? They make my day that much brighter. The bag I typically carry my books in is from Fan + Friend, and I have cute folders and a Hello Kitty pencil case to keep my pens in. Sometimes just seeing a cute print on a pencil makes your day a little better. Silly, but true. Here’s some cute examples:
Cute School Supplies
Cute erasers from Hapa Culture
Calculator, notebook, and pencils from Sanrio
Bag from Bodyline
Rilakkuma pencil case from Dream Kitty
I should note that High School is a totally different atmosphere for wearing lolita. I only wore my frills to school a few times in high school, partially because I was always in art classes, and partially because people were generally less accepting.

